Writing Process Blog Tour

Before I start in with the interview questions, I want to send out a special thanks to Tianna Holley who contacted me about this Tour, Thanks, Tianna! If you want to check out her blog, here it is http://www.tiannaholley.com

 

Question #1: What am I working on?

I am working on book 4 in my award-winning Moa Series, which centers around the mystery of Stonehenge and is narrated by another spirit (no spoilers here!) For those of you who are new to this YA SciFi Fantasy Mystical Adventure Series, each stand-alone book follows eighteen-year-old Hillary Hause, her sister, Molly, and niece, Heidi, as they aid a narrator/spirit in solving a mystery and saving an ancient land from obliteration. Through these books, the group unearths forgotten metaphysical gifts from within, heals past relationships and discovers the secret to immortality.

IMG_0906

Question #2: How does my work differ from others of its genre?

A ritual begins each chapter and leads the reader deeper into the adventure as it unfolds. I’ve even recorded these powerfully transformative rituals so you can listen whenever and wherever you’d like. Here’s an example (if you’d like to buy the recorded rituals you can do so iTunes or HERE.

*

 Ritual: Protection

Oil: Base of Almond Oil – Frankincense, Ginger, Juniper Berry

Incense: Dried Sage

Incantation: “I am at ease.”

Find a place where you will not be interrupted. Light the sage and allow the smoke to drift into all the corners of the room. Place a small amount of oil on your finger and anoint your forehead, chest, and base of your spine. This will ground you during your incantation.

Close your eyes and imagine a ring of fire surrounding you. No one may cross without your permission. Picture a person, entity, or situation for which you desire protection. See them approaching you within your circle of fire. Notice the feelings that arise. Express those feelings in any way necessary: scream, howl, yell, or cry. Now, watch as the issue from which you desire protection attempts to enter the circle of fire. When they touch the fire, they are burned and can come no further. Watch as they try again and again, and finally, watch as they stop, move away, and depart.

You are safe! Breathe in the safety and peace of this moment and know that you are surrounded by protection.

*

 The series moves between the physical and metaphysical worlds, as well as present day and ancient civilization. “Moa” takes place in Hawaii, “Statue of Ku” in Egypt and “Iron Shinto” in Japan. Details and daily life experiences enrich true to life stories and legends. Mortals remember immortality and immortals become human.

The lessons learned go beyond the physical world and illustrate that spirits must unravel mysteries, too, and that humans are can possess powers far beyond the spirit world.

IMG_0898

Question #4: How does your writing process work?

Every day is different. Sometimes words pour out faster than I can write or when I’m not near a computer so I have to grab a grocery receipt and quickly squeeze in all the juiciness that comes forth. Other times, I space out the writing and sit in a busy cafe listening to snippets of stranger’s conversations.

One thing is consistent. I do not judge myself, my writing or my process. If I do, I stop and give myself time to let that go. Then I begin again and pick up where I left off.

The stories come in, in waves of loveliness, or shards of anger, or slippery plots that I have to chase around and around. Whatever my course, I stick with it, I can edit later and I only edit after I let it all out–every last bit.

After I’ve done all of the above, I write a loose outline. It doesn’t include numbers and I’m the only one who knows what it means. Parts are in my head, parts are on receipts, tucked in the depths of my purse or in my computer, labeled with the story, date and version.

The Moa Series: “Moa,” “Statue of Ku” and “Iron Shinto,” is available on Amazon as Barnes and Nobel.

Follow me on twitter @tstewartshiu and Like the Moa Book Series on Facebook for updates.

 

Up next week on the Blog Tour we have….

1982327_10203241962520276_284462444_n

Langley Watts Cornwell

Hi there. I am a professional freelance writer for print and online publications as well as private clients. I write poems, stories and plays for fun. In addition to writing, I do a bit of consulting on branding and marketing communications issues.

After three decades of corporate marketing experience, I am grateful for the opportunity to choose my own topics, products and clients. Passionate about animals, gardening and the environment, I now live in Charleston, South Carolina with my husband and our beloved pets.

Check out Langley’s website at http://langley-writes.blogspot.com

Tags: , , , ,

4 Responses to “Writing Process Blog Tour”

  1. Beach Book Festival Awards ‘Iron Shinto’ ‘Runner Up’ in Science Fiction | Moa Book Blog Says:

    […] « Writing Process Blog Tour […]

  2. New York Book Festival Awards ‘Iron Shinto’ ‘Honorable Mention’ in the Young Adult Category Now .99 on Kindle | Moa Book Blog Says:

    […] https://tstewartshiu.wordpress.com/2014/06/10/writing-process-blog-tour/ […]

  3. Hollywood Book Festival Awards ‘Iron Shinto’ ‘Honorable Mention’ in Science Fiction | Moa Book Blog Says:

    […] https://tstewartshiu.wordpress.com/2014/06/10/writing-process-blog-tour/ […]

  4. ‘Iron Shinto’ Wins Two Mom’s Choice Awards: ‘Young Adult’ and ‘Young Contributor Illustrations’ | Moa Book Blog Says:

    […] https://tstewartshiu.wordpress.com/2014/06/10/writing-process-blog-tour/ […]

Leave a Reply

